Who are you? (niyamas)

The difference between what we think and who we think we are vs. who we actually are is the gap that our “work” should close. Most of us have honest and good beliefs. But, we don’t often act in a way that mirrors those beliefs. Truly, we operate from an attempt to “gain” in this physical world instead of “gain” in the spiritual world. Who are you? (niyamas)

How to Treat Me (yamas)

The Raja path consists of eight petals. None of the petals are more or less important than the others. You cannot achieve the goal bypassing any of the eight. Raja yoga is the journey inward until we reach a point where we realize that the entire universe is inside us. That we and all other things are one. So, the Raja path is How to Treat Me (yamas)

The Good Book

Yoga has a book of instructions. It’s called the Yoga Sutras.

I was surprised to find that a vast majority of students don’t know that. Many who are aware of the Sutras simply assume it’s a book explaining all the postures of yoga. It turns out, that’s not the case. The Yoga Sutras has nothing to do with postures at all.

Postures – or asanas in sanskrit – are mentioned but once in the entire 196 sutras. The Good Book

Practicing Gratitude

Sounds like the same tired inspiration everyone is saying, right? Being grateful and practicing gratitude make your life better. The thing is, what does that really mean? Do you sit for x amount of minutes each day and go through your life, ticking off mental check boxes on the good stuff? Practicing Gratitude

The Warrior’s Heart

Valentine’s Day always reminds me of the Warrior series. I know what you’re thinking: “Isn’t the Warrior series a story about Shiva and revenge?” Well, yes, on one hand it is.

On the other hand, from Viribhadra’s (the great warrior’s) point of view, it is a story of duty – and of heart. The great Warrior was called to action. The Warrior’s Heart